When asked, ‘Do you intend to upgrade to an iPhone 5?’ 31 percent of poll respondents said that they were planning to buy the iPhone 5, but the biggest section of the vote went to the option “No, I’m sticking with Android”. This is an intriguing statistic as the Google Android platform has a larger market share than Apple, but only just pips the Californian company in this poll – which is solely about upgrading to the latest iPhone only – suggesting that the iPhone 5 will be incredibly popular. Apple’s other main smartphone rivals collectively claimed only 11 percent of the vote – with BlackBerry taking 4 percent and Windows Phone taking a slightly more impressive 7 percent. The Windows Phone OS will hope that its upgrade to Windows Phone 8 in the coming months will help it capture more of the market. The remaining 25 percent of the poll went to “No, I’m happy with my current iPhone” which got 10 percent, “No, I don’t need a smartphone” also got 10 percent, while the final 5 percent was made up of people who selected “Don’t know”. The 5 percent that selected the “Don’t know” option is another interesting piece of information to come out of this poll. As Apple hasn’t even confirmed that there will be an iPhone 5, let alone confirmed the iPhone 5’s features. Yet 95 percent of our poll respondents seem to have made up their minds about the device already. As always with PC Advisor polls, voters were encouraged to leave comments to further explain their opinion. And as you can imagine, there were some interesting view points being expressed. MrNewName said this about the iPhone 5 “Probably yes but I want to see what it offers. I’m tempted by the Samsung Galaxy 3 for the sake of screen real estate but at the same time find myself a little tied in to the Apple apps that I have, as well as iCloud synchronization and my iPad. I realise that I could change over to Android and do all of this on that system too; however, it would take time.” Forum user carver also mentioned the iPhone 5’s big rival “Just got a Samsung Galaxy S3 and couldn’t be happier, the iPhone is so restrictive in terms of what you can do I just don’t want one”. Interestingly the comments section didn’t include a single pro-iPhone 5 post, despite capturing 31 percent of the vote.

31  intend to upgrade to iPhone 5 - 23